Reflexology and quacks in Uganda

Posted on June 18, 2011

0


Who are these reflexology doctors?

Thursday, 25th February, 2010

EDITOR—I am writing this to help the many Ugandans who are being conned by people calling themselves reflexology massage practitioners. First, these health practitioners are not supposed to advertise themselves if they are genuine. Their good works should speak for them.

Secondly, they should have proper clinics instead of operating from funny rundown rooms.

I recently had a nasty experience with one of them in Rubaga Division. I have a problem with my left leg, which resulted from a DVT clot I had nine years ago. So I decided to try out reflexology massage at this clinic which is frequently advertised on radio and TV. I was asked for sh8,000 consultation fee after which the ‘doctor’ took my history data.

He then measured my blood pressure and told me it was very low. All my life, I have never had any problem with my pressure, not even during pregnancy. He then measured my sugar level and told me it was high. Mind you, I have been so careful with my diet.

The ‘doctor’ then examined me through my feet — what they call reflexology. He asked me several questions such as “do you suffer from backache, headaches, urine retention’ etc?, symptoms he expected women of my age to suffer from. But my answers were negative for all.

I told him my only problem was my leg and uterine fibroids. He insisted on treating me for imagined symptoms. Eat 20 lemons on day one, 17 on day two, 15 on day three and keep reducing daily for 20 days. I was flabbergasted.

I asked him what size of lemon should I eat and he was at first taken aback. He quickly regained composure and told me ‘medium size’. Whatever that meant!

He went on to prescribe a diet for me: “Do not smoke, do not take alcohol, sugar, milk, fried foods,” all of which I was already not taking.

Finally, he advised me to go for a daily massage for a number of weeks at a cost of sh560,000 and hydrotherapy for sh150,000. I left promising to go look for the money and go back for treatment.
After leaving the clinic, the first thing I did was to go to the nearest health clinic to check my blood pressure. It was found to be perfectly normal.

After that experience, I realised that these ‘doctors’ falsify their gadgets to deceive patients and con them of large sums of money.

The public should watch out on these conmen. They advertise their services on TV and radios to fleece the public.
Can the health minister, Dr. Steven Mallinga, come to our rescue?

Who are these reflexology practitioners and how effective are they? Do they have any regulations?

Federica Nshemereirwe

Nabbingo

http://www.newvision.co.ug/D/8/21/711148

Posted in: Health, Uganda